The Praetorius Lower Saxony Music Prize

Since 2005, the Lower Saxony Ministry for Science and Culture has conferred the former “Lower Saxony Music Prize” for a wider range of disciplines and under a new name, the “Praetorius Lower Saxony Music Prize”. In 2009, the prize was conferred in six categories on eight performers from Germany and abroad.

Each year, a token of appreciation is given annually, in the form of the “Praetorius Lower Saxony Music Prize”, for outstanding artistic or academic accomplishment, voluntary commitment, innovative music performance, unique compositions, international art for peace, and to talents especially deserving of support. The Prize is in memory of Michael Praetorius, who harmonised the popular carol “Es ist ein Ros’ entsprungen” (“Lo, how a Rose e’er blooming”). In the early 17th century, Praetorius was one of the most important composers, organists and music theorists of his time.

The Künstlerhaus Spiekeroog is a “Praetorius Sponsor”, in which capacity it provides financial support for these awards, thus helping the further development of Lower Saxony as a centre for music.

Last year also more than 800 guests were present at the prize giving ceremony in the Hanover State Opera House in August 20th. The former Lower Saxony Minister for Science and Culture, Lutz Stratmann, conferred the “Praetorius Lower Saxony Music Prize 2009” to the following persons: Ingo Metzmacher (for Artistic Accomplishment), Michael Dreyer (International Music for Peace Award), Internationale Ensemble Modern Akademie (for Innovation in Music), Johannes Schöllhorn (for Composition), Prof. em. Ursula Hansen (civil engagement) just as Joana Mallwitz, Stefan Kellner and Alexej Gorlatch (Praetorius sponsorship price).

This year’s awards ceremony of the Praetorius Lower Saxony Music Prize will take place on Saturday, 13. November 2010 at 7:30 pm at Schauspielhaus Hannover.

If you would like to discover more about the “Praetorius Lower Saxony Music Awards” and/or about how Künstlerhauses Spiekeroog supports the arts, please contact: 

Niedersächsisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur,
Referat 33
Frau Lydia Grün
Leibnizufer 9
30169  Hannover


+ 49 (0) 511 - 120 - 2569


+ 49 (0) 421 - 120 - 2601





© Usage rights: Niedersächsisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur


print | recommend
| RSS-Feed
  • Niedersächsische Staatsoper Hannover
  • Concert at Prätorius Musikpreis Niedersachsen
  • Award ceremony at Prätorius Musikpreis Niedersachsen